Theoretically Applying Environment-Birthlines

Posted on August 3, 2011

1


(Note: This is simply a reiteration from my comment on AJATT. I actually plan to follow through with this. I post it here so that it’s forever in my blogging history, never to be forgotten.)

I wondered if someone were to simply set up a trial where all their goals were changed to this format. Food for thought, possibly for myself. And by that, I mean: I’m going to trial this. Perhaps for a week, even for a month. To see where I get, or better: Where I arrive.

In practice, it begins to look very simple. All you have to do is set up the environment to where you can’t leave the goal without fighting tooth and nail. My main ideas on how to set up this environment:

Have Japanese on or by you when you wake up
Have nothing but Japanese to do when you wake up, first thing in the morning
(this will then carry on throughout the day)

You then sprinkle any other of these “environment-manufactured goals” that you want to happen(specific to me), like exercise, practicing music, reading books, doing homework, learning physics:
(Exercise)Put on shoes, Go outside
(Music)Hold guitar. Play Youtube videos of music you’d like to learn while having guitar in hand
(Reading books)Always have books around you. Have books open at all times. Put audiobooks in your car.
(Doing homework)Always have homework near you. Always have textbooks open.
(Learning Physics)Only have http://ocw.mit.edu/index.htm open in your browser. Always have some Physics books open. Put yourself in an environment with only physics books, videos, courses, etc.
(Now that I think about this, I think it would be an interesting experiment to set up culture-environments or goal-environments as specific areas in your house that you just walk into and experience. Then your only goal would be to walk in and sit down. Perhaps something to write about and experiment with in the future.)

Then at the end of the day, by your bedside, you have all your Japanese stuff. Always have Japanese books in reach. Always have Japanese open and ready to activate. Leave Japanese on till the morning…

You see what I’m getting at.

Posted in: Notebook